
 

SIMULATION 1 

 
 

Board 5 
North Deals 

N-S Vul 

♠ — 

♥ Q J 10 7 5 2 

♦ A J 6 

♣ K 10 4 2 
 

♠ A Q J 6 

♥ A K 8 4 

♦ 7 3 2 

♣ Q 6 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ K 9 8 7 4 2 

♥ 9 6 

♦ Q 10 9 8 

♣ 5 
  

 

♠ 10 5 3 

♥ 3 

♦ K 5 4 

♣ A J 9 8 7 3 
 

1 (a) 
North is dealer but South Passes. 
TD! Give West option of accepting POOT. Explain consequences of the different 
options (L29A) 
West does not accept the POOT  
After ruling: 
 
N E S W 
1♥ 2♠  4♠  
North opens 1♥, E overcalls <stop> 2♠ and without waiting for South to call West 
calls <stop> 4♠ 
 
TD!  L 28A. West did not have to wait for South to call. Continue normally 
 
 
1(b) 
While North is looking at his cards, East opens <stop> 2♠. North doesn’t notice 
East’s bid and “opens” 1♥ 
 
TD!  
Law 28B. East’s 2♠ bid is cancelled (as if it didn’t happen) without rectification, and 
North’s 1♥ opening is the only legal call so far. (BUT L16D2 applies!) 
 
 

 
 
  



SIMULATION 2 

Board 6 
East Deals 

E-W Vul 

♠ 9 7 2 

♥ A K 3 2 

♦ J 7 5 2 

♣ A 4 
 

♠ Q 6 

♥ Q 10 8 6 4 

♦ 9 3 

♣ K Q 10 8 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ 5 4 

♥ 5 

♦ A K Q 10 8 

♣ 9 7 6 5 2 
  

 

♠ A K J 10 8 3 
♥ J 9 7 
♦ 6 4 
♣ J 3 

 

SIMULATION 2 (a) 
W N E S 
  P 2♠ 

P North passes OOT. TD is called and gives ruling. L30B1 North 
must pass once. Bidding continues 

 
W N E S 
  P 2♠ 
P P 2NT P  
3♣ 3♠ AP     

TD? Any problem?  L26? Anything to add? NO 
 
SIMULATION 2 (b) 
W N E S 
  P 2♠ 
P P South passes OOT.  TD is called and gives ruling. L30B2.  
  South must pass whenever <L23> and North may not X or XX  
     at that turn. The bidding continues (2 cases) 
(i)  
W N E S 
  P 2♠ 
P P 2NT P  
3♣ 3♠ AP 

TD? Any problem?  Anything to add? NO 
 
(ii) 
W N E S 
  P 2♠ 
P P 2NT 3♠  
4♣ 4♠ TD!  Now East calls TD and tells him “South didn’t  pass!” Ruling? 

L37A. No rectification, continue normallyand  L26 lead 
penalty does not apply. (South must still pass next time/s.)
  

       
  



 

SIMULATION 3 

 

Board 3 
South Deals 
E-W Vul 

♠ Q J 
♥ K 8 7 5 3 2 
♦ 5 
♣ 5 4 3 2 

 

♠ A 7  

♥ A 
♦ J 9 6 3 2 
♣ A 10 9 7 6 

 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ 10 9 6 5 4 2 

♥ Q J 9 
♦ 10 4 
♣ Q J 

  

 

♠ K 8 3 
♥ 10 6 4 
♦ A K Q 8 7 
♣ K 8 

 

 
 
W N E S 
   1NT 
 2♦ TD! 

North bids 2♦ out of turn. If asked, 2♦ is transfer to hearts. 
TD gives ruling. TD must ask meaning of 2♦ and give ruling. If 
West passes North must repeat bid and no rectification. If 

West passes North may call any legal call. If the call 
repeats the denomination (HEARTS: L 29C) South 
must pass once <L23>; if not South must pass 
whenever, and lead restrictions of L26. 

 
SIMULATION 3 (a) 
West passes, and the bidding continues  
W N E S 
  P 1NT 
P 2♦ P 2H 
All Pass      

TD? Any problems.  Are there any bidding or play 
restrictions? NO 

 
SIMULATION 3 (b) 
West bids 2♣ (DONT = clubs + higher suit) 

TD gives ruling, and the bidding continues 
W N E S 
  P 1NT 
2♣ 2H  

What are the restrictions now (bidding, play) ? South must 
pass once, no play restrictions. 

 
  



 

SIMULATION 4 

Board 1 
North Deals 

None Vul 

♠ 10 9 5 4 2 

♥ Q 

♦ 9 6 5 4 

♣ 9 6 4 
 

♠ Q J 3 

♥ A K J 10 

♦ J 10 3 

♣ Q 10 5 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ A K 7 

♥ 9 7 6 3 

♦ A 8 7 

♣ A 3 2 
  

 

♠ 8 6 

♥ 8 5 4 2 

♦ K Q 2 

♣ K J 8 7 
 

West North East South 

  Pass 1 N Pass 

3 N All pass     

3 NT by East 

North leads ♠4 out of turn, East calls TD, and TD gives ruling.  
Ruling should include: ((why did you lead OOT – see L47E1)) 

Accept lead (play or dummy) 
   Prohibit lead, demand lead > OOT lead returned to hand** 
   Play anything > OOT lead is MPC* 
 
SIMULATION  4 (a) 

(i) East accepts the OLOOT and chooses to play. Dummy spread first, then declarer plays 
from hand 

(ii) East accepts the OLOOT and chooses to be dummy Declarer becomes dummy 
 
SIMULATION  4 (b) 
East does not accept OLOOT 
He wants  
(i) South to lead a spade ♠4 returned to hand 

(ii) South to NOT lead a spade. ♠4 returned to hand 

 
 
LAWS 54, 41, 53, 50D 
 
 
** If “for as long as he retains the lead L 50D2a” is not mentioned, keep it for Simulation 7 
*why MPC and not mPC? 
 
  



SIMULATION 5 

 

Board 1 
North Deals 

None Vul 

♠ 10 9 5 4 2 

♥ Q 

♦ 9 6 5 4 

♣ 9 6 4 
 

♠ Q J 3 

♥ A K J 10 

♦ J 10 3 

♣ Q 10 5 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ A K 7 

♥ 9 7 6 3 

♦ A 8 7 

♣ A 3 2 
  

 

♠ 8 6 

♥ 8 5 4 2 

♦ K Q 2 

♣ K J 8 7 
 

West North East South 

  Pass 1 N Pass 

3 N All pass     

3 NT by East 

 
SIMULATION  5(a) 
North leads ♠4 OLOOT 
East presumed declarer) starts putting his cards on the table. After about 4-5 cards West says “Stop! 
I’m dummy!” 
TD is called. Ruling? 
 
Law 54A: Too late! East must spread his hand and become dummy.  
SIMULATION  5(b) 
North leads ♠4 OLOOT 
West (presumed dummy) starts putting his cards on the table (3 – 4) but East shouts “Wait – it’s not 
his lead!” 
 
Law 54C: Also too late. East must accept the lead. West puts his cards on the table and Declarer then 
plays from his hand. 
 
 

 
  



 

SIMULATION 6 

 

Board 1 
North Deals 

None Vul 

♠ 10 9 5 4 2 

♥ Q 

♦ 9 6 5 4 

♣ 9 6 4 
 

♠ Q J 3 

♥ A K J 10 

♦ J 10 3 

♣ Q 10 5 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ A K 7 

♥ 9 7 6 3 

♦ A 8 7 

♣ A 3 2 
  

 

♠ 8 6 

♥ 8 5 4 2 

♦ K Q 2 

♣ K J 8 7 
 

West North East South 

  Pass 1 N Pass 

3 N All pass     

3 NT by East 

 
SIMULATION  6: 
South leads ♥2, ♥J, Q, 3 
South now leads ♥4 (OOT) 
TD! 
 
TD should give 2 options to declarer 

(a) Declarer accepts LOOT. Continue normally L 53A 
(b) Declarer does not accept LOOT. L47B H4 is MPC* . North must lead and declarer has option 

under L49,50. 
 
 
*why MPC and not mPC? 
If time, deal with mPC/MPC and penalty cards in general. 
 
 
 
  



SIMULATION 7 

 

Board 7 
East Deals N-S Vul 

♠ 7 2 

♥ K 8 7 5 3 2 

♦ 5 

♣ 5 4 3 2 
 

♠ K Q 4  

♥ A 

♦ 9 6 3 2 

♣ A 10 9 7 6 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ J 10 9 6 5  

♥ Q J 9 

♦ J 10 4 

♣ Q J 
  

 

♠ A 8 3  

♥ 10 6 4 

♦ A K Q 8 7 

♣ K 8 
 

West North East South 

    Pass 1 N 

Pass 2 ♦ Pass 2 ♥ 

All pass       

South declares 2♥ 
East leads ♠J OOT. 
TD called and gives ruling <see simulation 4>. If “for as long as he retains the lead L 50D2a” is not 
mentioned do NOT correct. 
 
SIMULATION  7 (a) 
South doesn’t accept the lead and forbids a spade lead from West. 
West plays ♥A and wins trick, and leads ♠K to trick 2. 
Declarer calls TD and asks if it’s OK for West to now lead a spade 
NO! L50D2a, and now ♠K is MPC. <problem/TD error if TD did not mention “for as long….> 
 
SIMULATION  7 (b) 
South says play anything 
West leads ♥A , wins trick 1. 
Now South says “Lead a spade” 
West calls TD and objects. “He said lead anything, now he says lead a spade!” 
TD? 
 
The ♠10 is on the table and is still a penalty card at the start of trick 2 and L50D2a still applies, so 
South has the right to demand a spade lead (even though it is not very clever!) 
 
>IF TIME< 

SIMULATION 7  (c) 
TD does not mention “as long as he retains” and West claims that if he had known this he would 
have led differently. 
If West’s statement is valid, correct according to 82(c)- Director’s error. 
  



SIMULATION 8 

 

Board 1 
North Deals 

None Vul 

♠ 10 9 5 4 2 

♥ Q 

♦ 9 6 5 4 

♣ 9 6 4 
 

♠ Q J 3 

♥ A K J 10 

♦ J 10 3 

♣ Q 10 5 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ A K 7 

♥ 9 7 6 3 

♦ A 8 7 

♣ A 3 2 
  

 

♠ 8 6 

♥ 8 5 4 2 

♦ K Q 2 

♣ K J 8 7 
 

West North East South 

  Pass 1 N Pass 

3 N All pass     

3 NT by East 

 
 
SIMULATION 8 (a) 
South lead ♥5, West plays  ♥A, and North plays ♣4. Declarer has not yet played. 
 

i)  South asks North “No hearts partner?” East calls TD. No problem  L61B3. Revoke 
corrected, MPC L62 
 

ii) West (dummy) asks North “No hearts?”.  South calls TD. L61B2(b). Warning or PP to 
dummy, but revoke is corrected, MPC  (L62). BUT consider applying  L16B* 

 
 

iii) East (declarer) asks North “No hearts?” . South calls TD. No problem.L61B1. Revoke 
corrected, MPC L62 
 

 
*Extra : Change exercise to include Law 43 (dummy limitations) 
 

 
SIMULATION 8 (b) 
South leads ♥5, West ♥A, North ♥Q. East declarer ♦7 (revoke) 
 

i) West (dummy) asks East declarer “No Hearts?” A defender calls the TD. No 
problem.L61B2. Revoke corrected, L62 (but see if L43B2(b) applies) 

 
 

  



SIMULATION 9 

  ♠ 7 3 
  ♥ T 2 
  ♦  - 
  ♣ 6 3  
 
♠ 8    ♠ Q 9 
♥ J 7 5     ♥ 9 4 
♦ -     ♦ -  
♣ 7 2    ♣ 8 5 
   
  ♠ A K T 
  ♥ 8 
  ♦ -  
  ♣ J 4  
 
South is declarer in 4♠, He plays ♠A on which West discards ♥5. On the next trick declarer plays ♣J 
and asks for ♣3 from dummy. 

a) West now says that he revoked on the previous trick. 

 

TD! 

The revoke is not established and L62 is applied. Go back a trick.♣J, ♣3,♠9 are withdrawn. ♠A 
is led, West plays a spade (♥5 is MPC) and declarer may “change” the card he originally 
played. If he does this – and ONLY if he does this – East can also change his card, but the 
original card is a MPC.  
Declarer may also play another card instead of the ♣J (and ♣3) 

  



SIMULATION 10 

Board 4 
West Deals 

Both Vul 

♠ Q J 3 

♥ 2 

♦ A J 4 2 

♣ K Q 9 6 3 
 

♠ A 8 5 

♥ A J 10 6 3 

♦ 9 7 

♣ A J 7 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ K 9 7 6 4 2 

♥ K 9 

♦ Q 10 8 3 

♣ 4 
  

 

♠ 10 

♥ Q 8 7 5 4 

♦ K 6 5 

♣ 10 8 5 2 
 

West North East South 

1 ♥ Pass 1 ♠ Pass 

1 N All pass     

Trick Lead 2nd 3rd 4th 

1. N ♣ 6 4 10 J 

2. E ♠ 2 10 A 3 

3. W ♠ 5 Q 4 ♣ 2 

4. N ♣ K ♦ 3 5 A 

5. W ♠ 8 - - - 

This is now the position 

 

 

 

♠ J  

♥ 2 

♦ A J 4 2 

♣ Q  9 3 
 

♠ 8  

♥ A J 10 6 3  

♦ 9 7 

♣ 7 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ K 9 7 6  

♥ K 9 

♦ Q 10 8  

♣  
  

 

♠  

♥ Q 8 7 5 4 

♦ K 6 5 

♣ 8   
 

On the ♠8 north plays ♦, dummy wins with ♠K and declarer plays another ♠ from dummy which 
North wins with the ♠J. TD!!! 

 
Test if  TD controls the situation. When TD says “continue” <how does he say it?> west will go on 
about how she could have made if there was no revoke; North will insist that if West could count to 

13 etc etc. Ruling under L 64C 1NT +2 or +3 allowing west to finesse the heart.  


